Health Links

These resources are evolving and changing. If you have health links to suggest, please contact us with the relevant information so we can consider adding it to the list. Thank you.

General Health Topics:health-links-ballarat

Better Health Channel     www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
Everyday Health     www.everydayhealth.com
Healthdirect Australia     www.healthdirect.gov.au

Nutrition & Diet:

Nutrition Australia     www.nutritionaustralia.org
Eat For Health, Australian Government     www.eatforhealth.gov.au
Dietitians Association of Australia     www.daa.asn.au
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, USA     www.eatright.org
American Nutrition Association     www.americannutritionassociation.org
Nutrition.gov, US Department of Agriculture     www.nutrition.gov    
Nutrition Facts, USA     www.nutritionfacts.org
Learn About Probiotics in Reviews.com
How To Read Nutrition Labels by Crunch Fitness

Integrative Medicine:

Australasian Integrative Medicine Association     www.aima.net.au
Integrative Medicine, Uni. of Wisconsin, USA     www.fammed.wisc.edu/integrative/modules

Health Conditions, Prevention & Disease support:

Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy     www.allergy.org.au
Asthma Australia     www.asthmaaustralia.org.au
Crohn’s & Colitis Australia     www.acca.com.au
Coeliac Australia     www.coeliac.org.au
Cancer Council Australia     www.cancer.org.au
Cancer Australia, Australian Government     www.canceraustralia.gov.au
Diabetes Australia     www.diabetesaustralia.com.au
National Asthma Council Australia     www.nationalasthma.org.au
Department of Health, Victorian State Government     www.health.vic.gov.au
Kidney Health Australia     www.kidney.org.au
Osteoporosis Australia     www.osteoporosis.org.au
National Stroke Foundation – Australia     www.strokefoundation.com.au
SunSmart Victoria     www.sunsmart.com.au
Department of Human Services, Australian Government     www.humanservices.gov.au
DonateLife, Organ & Tissue Authority, Australian Government     www.donatelife.gov.au
Palliative Care Australia     www.palliativecare.org.au

Addiction Support:

Addiction Centre     www.addictioncenter.com
Addiction Guide     www.addictionguide.com
Substance Abuse & Recovery     www.advancedrecoverysystems.com
Drug Rehab     www.drugrehab.com
Detox Rehabs     www.detoxrehabs.org
RehabNet     www.rehabnet.com
Teen Rehab Center, USA     www.teenrehabcenter.org
The Recovery Village, USA    www.therecoveryvillage.com

Quit Victoria     www.quit.org.au

Blogs That Educate & Inspire:

www.authoritynutrition.com
www.chriskresser.com
www.drlibby.com
www.draxe.com
www.drgregemerson.com
www.lesliekenton.com
www.jonnybowden.com
www.mindbodygreen.com
www.pathtowellness.com.au
www.thewholejourney.com
www.thinkingnutrition.com.au
www.vegansparkles.com

Health Research:

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
A great go-to website for health professionals and proactive patients to access information and news on health topics, drugs and supplements. This site is provided by the US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/
PubMed enables searching of millions of peer-reviewed publications in biomedical, health and life science journals, literature and books. This site is provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, US National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.

http://www.nccam.nih.gov
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine is the USA Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine. NCCAM is affiliated with the National Institutes of Health of the US Department of Health and Human Services.

http://www.berkeleywellness.com
A useful website containing easy-to-read articles on evidence-based wellness information from the University of California Berkeley’s School of Public Health.

http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource
Nutrition Source is published by the Harvard School of Public Health to provide evidence-based diet & nutrition information for clinicians, health professionals and the public

Useful Articles:

The Impact of Sleep on the Body
more to come…